Rhythmic space: A pause for breath (2010)

Release Date: November 2, 2010
Available now on:

Rhythmic space: A pause for breath

숨[suːm] (breath)

Every living creature breathes.
Respiration is essential in music, especially in traditional Korean music.
Sometimes a soft sigh, sometimes a gasp, and sometimes a silent hold of breath…

Music is a way to express the essence of living for 숨[suːm]. 숨[suːm] has been telling colorful stories of various lives in language of music. 숨[suːm] was formed in 2007, by a couple of Korean traditional musicians. For more clarity and better interpretation of its music, the two musicians, Jiha Park (Piri) and Jungmin Seo (Gayageum), compose and perform their own musical pieces. Their ambitious aim is to start a new era of Korean traditional music that sheds light on contemporary spirit by addressing in musical sense sentiments and lessons earned from living a modern life. Also, successful attempts at reinterpreting spaces and collaborating with other genre led them to invent new performances and engage in experimental musical activities. This album is an assortment of 숨[suːm]’s musics which are the fruit of collaboration between 숨[suːm]’s music and musics from many other genre.


숨[suːm] 1st <공간에서 숨 쉬다>

살아 있는 모든 것은 숨을 쉰다.
음악에서, 특히 한국음악에서 호흡은 매우 중요하다.
때로는 평온한 숨,
때로는 거친 숨,
때로는 숨이 멎을 듯 참는 숨….

‘숨[suːm]’에게 음악은 삶을 확인하는 중요한 도구이자 방법이다. 여러 숨(삶)을 음악으로 말한다. ‘숨[suːm]’은 음악에 대한 태도와 음악과 삶의 밀착성을 마음에 두고 2007년 만들어진 한국음악 듀오이다. 보다 명확한 곡의 해석과 전달을 위해서 박지하(피리), 서정민(가야금) 두 명의 연주자가 직접 곡을 만들고 연주한다. 삶을 통해 배우고 느끼는 것들을 자연스럽게 음악으로 옮기는 작업을 통해 동시대의 감성이 묻어나는 새로운 한국음악을 만들어 가려 노력하고 있다. 공간에 대한 재해석, 다른 예술 장르와 결합하는 시도와 노력을 통해 새로운 퍼포먼스를 발견해 나가고 즐기는 실험적인 작업들을 꾸준히 해 오고 있다. 이번 앨범은 그간 여러 장르와의 협업을 통해 발견하고 만들어 온 ‘숨[suːm]’의 음악들이 담겨 있는 앨범이다.

Produced by 숨[suːm]
All Composed by 숨[suːm]
Performed by 숨[suːm]
Tabla Seongmo Gu(Track 7)

Recorded by Byungkeuk Kim, at Studio Sonic Edge, Seoul, Korea
Mixed by Byungkeuk Kim
Mastered by Byungkeuk Kim

Visual director Jingook Han
Designed by Jihee Shin(cdrON)
Photography by Sungyull Nah
Translation by Jisoo Seo
Booklets Notes by Jiha Park

Executive Produced by Woongsik Kim

Related Video